There is, however, a marital exception which allows a person to have sex with a minor 16 or older if they are married to the minor. The age of consent in Wyoming was thought by some to be 16, as stated above by Section 6‑2‑304.

Sexual assault in the third degree. {Chapter 117, 18 U.S.C. Under 20, the younger person must not be less than 14.

Title 11 § 761. § 53a-70(a)(2). Section 632-A:4. 76-5-401.3. Romeo and Juliet laws are targeted toward teenagers and young adults who engage in sexual relations with someone under the age of consent (17 in Texas), but who are still close in age to the sexual partner.

Any person 18 years of age or older, including the parent of any child, who (i) willfully contributes to, encourages, or causes any act, omission, or condition which renders a child delinquent, in need of services, in need of supervision, or abused or neglected as defined in § 16.1-228, or (ii) engages in consensual sexual intercourse with a child 15 or older not his spouse, child, or grandchild, shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. Any juvenile offender 14 years old or older has the case automatically transferred to the regular criminal docket of the Superior Court by operation of law, and thus stands before the court to be tried as an adult. A person commits the offense of child molestation in the fourth degree if, being more than four years older than a child who is less than seventeen years of age, subjects the child to sexual contact.

If the offender is 21 years of age or older, the minimum is raised to 10 years in prison, and the offender is subject to sex offender sentencing guidelines. However, the offender would have the same chance to apply for Youthful Offender status (see Sexual Assault, 2nd Degree above) provided the criteria are met. Emancipated minors who are sixteen or seventeen can legally marry. B. Whoever commits sexual communication with a child is guilty of a fourth degree felony. This means that while sexual activity between a 14-year-old and an 18- or 19-year-old may be legal in and of itself, soliciting it could still be charged as a class D felony. Age of reason means the age at which a person is legally capable of committing a crime or tort as s/he can distinguish right from wrong. 1.

[58][59], 28-319. [124], However, in Esquivel-Quintana v. Sessions, the Supreme Court held that in the context of statutory rape offenses that criminalize sexual intercourse based solely on the ages of the participants, the generic federal definition of "sexual abuse of a minor" requires the age of the victim to be less than 16.[125]. "[92], The legal age for non-penetrative sexual contact is 15.[219][220]. Aggravated indecent liberties with a child is sexual intercourse with a child who is 14 or more years of age but less than 16 years of age.[169]. As mentioned in the chart above, the age of consent in Texas is 17. – The Alaska Legal Resource Center", "13-1405.

2001) (Posner, J.). (All ages mentioned are "at the time of the act".) :: Sec. This exception was added after a landmark case, Wilson v. State of Georgia occurred in 2006 and caused lawmakers to think the statute should have a close-in-age exception. Effective 5/8/2018: IC 35-42-4-9 states: "Sexual misconduct with a minor [58], In most states there is not a single age in which a person may consent, but rather consent varies depending upon the minimum age of the younger party, the minimum age of the older party, or the differences in age. [130] Such laws may refer to: "carnal knowledge of a minor", "child molestation", "corruption of a minor", "sexual misconduct", or "unlawful carnal knowledge". Legal age of consent: 16 years old for women, 18 years old for men. If two 17-year-olds consent to having sex, both have committed a misdemeanor.

[140], In 2012 Kristin Olsen, a Republican member of the State Assembly of California, sponsored a bill that criminalizes sexual relations between K-12 teachers and students, including students over 18, as well as sexual text messages and other communications aimed at seducing a student. With parental consent, a person can marry at sixteen. [174], (1) Any person who subjects another person to sexual penetration.

Statutory rape; enhanced penalty for forcible sexual intercourse or statutory rape by administering certain substances.

Sexual contact with child under sixteen years of age—Violation as misdemeanor. Statutory rape). (See, People v. Lawrence, Age of reason means the age at which a person is legally capable of committing a crime or tort as s/he can distinguish right from wrong. Choose a link from the list below for state-specific information on minors and the law. § 16-3-651. With parental consent and a court order based on "the best interest of the child," and no more than a three year age gap, a child can marry at sixteen, The age of consent is eighteen. Legally recognized marriage is a defense. RCW 9A.44.079 "A person is guilty of rape of a child in the third degree when the person has sexual intercourse with another who is at least fourteen years old but less than sixteen years old and not married to the perpetrator and the perpetrator is at least forty-eight months older than the victim. The age of consent in Delaware is 18, but it is legal for teenagers aged 16 and 17 to engage in sexual intercourse as long as the older partner is younger than 30. 76-5-401.1. See C.G.S. [47] It passed 36-2.[48]. (See, People v. Beauchamp, 74 N.Y.2d 639; 539 N.E.2d 1105 [1989].

The age of consent in New Hampshire is 16. Any person, younger than sixteen years of age, who knowingly engages in sexual contact with another person, other than his or her spouse, if such other person is younger than sixteen years of age, is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. 762(d)specifies a close-in-age “affirmative defense” for 12- to 15-year-olds. (1) Being eighteen (18) years of age or older, the person solicits another person who is less than fifteen (15) years of age or who is represented to be less than fifteen (15) years of age to engage in: [109], Age-of-consent laws were historically only applied when a female was younger than her male partner. (1) A person who is seventeen years of age or older has sexual intercourse, with consent, with a person who is thirteen years of age or older but less than seventeen years of age, when the victim is not the spouse of the offender and when the difference between the age of the victim and the age of the offender is four years or greater; or ...[171]. The court stated; “The fact that knowledge of a child's age is not an essential element of the crime does not dispose of defendant's argument that mistake of fact may be raised as a defense. The age of consent in Nevada is 16. Causing or encouraging acts rendering children delinquent, abused, etc. However, in the cases of Pierson v. State and Moore v. State, the Wyoming Supreme Court held that sexual activity with minors aged 16 or 17 could be charged under Section 14-3-105 of Wyoming Statutes. Whoever has sexual intercourse with a child who is not the defendant's spouse and who has attained the age of 16 years is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor. [25], Age of consent in Illinois is 17, and rises to 18 with someone who has a position of authority or trust over the victim.