They will freeze well for up to 1 month. For pain au chocolat with a bit more depth of flavor and slightly darker color, substitute 1/2 cup (53g) medium rye flour for 1/2 cup of the all-purpose flour called for. 2020 Pain au Chocolat is the chocolate version of the croissant. Lightly knead the dough and form it into a ball, making sure not to over-knead it. Mix until fairly evenly blended. To assemble the rolls: Remove the dough from the refrigerator, place it on a lightly floured surface and roll it into a 12" square. I started my love of baking helping my grandma bake shortbread and muffins. I’ve been an avid cook since taking foods in high school. Alternatively, you can freeze the croissant dough, and then unfreeze your dough and continue making your pain au chocolat. I make all of my food creations in my home in Chilliwack, BC, Canada. Her expertise is in French cuisine, which she writes about and teaches. Place your frozen pain au chocolat in the fridge to thaw.

Repeat with the remaining dough. Cover and let rise in a warm place until they're light and puffy looking, about an hour. To finish your pain au chocolat: Remove the dough from the refrigerator, cut it in half and return one half to the refrigerator. Bake the pain au chocolat for 12 to 14 minutes, until they are puffed and golden brown.

Add the List of Every Ingredient and Tool You Need to Make Macarons, 37 Tea Time Sweets to Serve for Afternoon Tea. If the dough is too sticky, add 1 tablespoon of extra flour at a time, until the dough is just firm enough to shape without sticking. By using The Spruce Eats, you accept our, 5 French Christmas Breakfast Pastry Recipes, Tsoureki: a Traditional Greek Easter Bread, Ultimate Cinnamon Rolls With Vanilla Frosting, 12 Recipes for a Classic French Breakfast. Add the bread flour, milk, sugar, melted butter, and salt to the dissolved yeast and water, and mix the dough on medium speed for about 2 minutes.